Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Support > Support::General Support

Support::General Support Post all topics here having to do with errors while trying to connect to an EQEMu server but not about the setup/running of the Server itself.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-27-2015, 09:19 AM
Maze_EQ
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,103
Default Bard Swap problem

It seems the instruments are being checked per tick, not on the initial cast.

Changes to bard spells:

effectid1 from 334-0 (Possible culprit due to it being counted as a DD now?)


Rule in rule_values to allow bards to damage moving mobs.

Any recommendations?
__________________
"No, thanks, man. I don't want you fucking up my life, too."

Skype:
Comerian1
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-27-2015, 10:35 AM
chrsschb's Avatar
chrsschb
Dragon
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: GA
Posts: 904
Default

You'd think anything with a duration would be counted as a DOT and take focus effects on the initial cast only.
__________________
Clumsy's World: Resurgence [2019-Present]
Clumsy's World 2.0 [2014-2016]
Clumsy's World [2006-2012]
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-27-2015, 10:36 AM
demonstar55
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: MA
Posts: 1,164
Default

Update.

....
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-27-2015, 01:06 PM
Maze_EQ
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,103
Default

Chrs

It happens on clumsys too.
__________________
"No, thanks, man. I don't want you fucking up my life, too."

Skype:
Comerian1
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-27-2015, 01:34 PM
chrsschb's Avatar
chrsschb
Dragon
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: GA
Posts: 904
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maze_EQ View Post
Chrs

It happens on clumsys too.
Never said it didn't...

We just swapped bard DoTs over to 0 yesterday so not like it's been a huge issue for us lol.
__________________
Clumsy's World: Resurgence [2019-Present]
Clumsy's World 2.0 [2014-2016]
Clumsy's World [2006-2012]
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-27-2015, 02:46 PM
Maze_EQ
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,103
Default

Just letting you know lol.
__________________
"No, thanks, man. I don't want you fucking up my life, too."

Skype:
Comerian1
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-28-2015, 03:16 PM
chrsschb's Avatar
chrsschb
Dragon
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: GA
Posts: 904
Default

Anyone know a workaround for this? Want bards to be able to aoe moving mobs, but also need instruments to work on the entire duration not just the ticks where the instrument is equipped.
__________________
Clumsy's World: Resurgence [2019-Present]
Clumsy's World 2.0 [2014-2016]
Clumsy's World [2006-2012]
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-28-2015, 05:44 PM
demonstar55
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: MA
Posts: 1,164
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrsschb View Post
Anyone know a workaround for this? Want bards to be able to aoe moving mobs, but also need instruments to work on the entire duration not just the ticks where the instrument is equipped.
The instrument part should work already.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-28-2015, 08:33 PM
chrsschb's Avatar
chrsschb
Dragon
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: GA
Posts: 904
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by demonstar55 View Post
The instrument part should work already.
So what do I need to update to get it working?

If I leave effectid1 at 334 instruments work but the dots doesn't hit moving mobs

If I switch effectid1 to 0 it hits moving mobs but instruments stop working.
__________________
Clumsy's World: Resurgence [2019-Present]
Clumsy's World 2.0 [2014-2016]
Clumsy's World [2006-2012]
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-28-2015, 09:36 PM
demonstar55
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: MA
Posts: 1,164
Default

Code:
RULE_BOOL(Spells, PreNerfBardAEDoT, false) //Allow bard AOE dots to damage targets when moving.
Turn Spells:PreNerfBardAEDoT to true in your rules table.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07-28-2015, 09:53 PM
rhyotte
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 222
Default

Cool to know...thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-29-2015, 09:16 AM
chrsschb's Avatar
chrsschb
Dragon
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: GA
Posts: 904
Default

Don't have this rule in my rules table lol. When was it added? My database is from May.
__________________
Clumsy's World: Resurgence [2019-Present]
Clumsy's World 2.0 [2014-2016]
Clumsy's World [2006-2012]
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-29-2015, 09:33 AM
Maze_EQ
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,103
Default

You have to add it manually.
__________________
"No, thanks, man. I don't want you fucking up my life, too."

Skype:
Comerian1
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-29-2015, 10:08 AM
chrsschb's Avatar
chrsschb
Dragon
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: GA
Posts: 904
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maze_EQ View Post
You have to add it manually.
Aight, will test later.
__________________
Clumsy's World: Resurgence [2019-Present]
Clumsy's World 2.0 [2014-2016]
Clumsy's World [2006-2012]
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-29-2015, 01:25 PM
image
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,290
Default

Edit: guess eqemu current might use 'instrument_mod' in the buff struct, demonstar can enlighten us to the changes as all I saw was 'update' :P









The problem is the instrument calculation should be done and saved for the duration of the spell, not requiring the instrument each tic. The instrument does not 'save' on the buff in eqemu code.

I have this on my server, but I am on a slightly older code base. Pretty much you have to create an array in the buff structure for the bardMod value.

eg in Buffs_Struct
int bardMod[EFFECT_COUNT];

the setting of the bardMod was handled in spell_effects.cpp Mob::CalcSpellEffectValue


Code:
int Mob::CalcSpellEffectValue(int16 spell_id, int buffID, int effect_id, int caster_level, Mob *caster, int ticsremaining)
{
	int formula, base, max, effect_value;

	if
		(
		!IsValidSpell(spell_id) ||
		effect_id < 0 ||
		effect_id >= EFFECT_COUNT
		)
		return 0;

	formula = spells[spell_id].formula[effect_id];
	base = spells[spell_id].base[effect_id];
	max = spells[spell_id].max[effect_id];

	if(IsBlankSpellEffect(spell_id, effect_id))
		return 0;

	effect_value = CalcSpellEffectValue_formula(formula, base, max, caster_level, spell_id, ticsremaining);

	if(caster && IsBardSong(spell_id) &&
		(spells[spell_id].effectid[effect_id] != SE_AttackSpeed) &&
		(spells[spell_id].effectid[effect_id] != SE_AttackSpeed2) &&
		(spells[spell_id].effectid[effect_id] != SE_AttackSpeed3) &&
		(spells[spell_id].effectid[effect_id] != SE_Lull) &&
		(spells[spell_id].effectid[effect_id] != SE_ChangeFrenzyRad) &&
		(spells[spell_id].effectid[effect_id] != SE_Harmony) //&& 
		// Kings & Bandits - EQEmu revision 1883 - The mana regen portion of bard songs is no longer affected by instrument mods.
		/*(spells[spell_id].effectid[effect_id] != SE_CurrentMana)*/) {
			int oval = effect_value;
			if ( buffID > -1 && buffID < BUFF_COUNT )
			{
				if ( buffs[buffID].bardMod[effect_id] == 0 )
				{
					int mod = caster->GetInstrumentMod(spell_id);
					effect_value = effect_value * mod / 10;
					mlog(SPELLS__BARDS, "Effect value %d altered with bard modifier of %d to yield %d with buffid %i", oval, mod, effect_value, buffID);
					buffs[buffID].bardMod[effect_id] = mod;
				}
				else
				{
					int mod = caster->GetInstrumentMod(spell_id);
					if ( mod > buffs[buffID].bardMod[effect_id] )
						buffs[buffID].bardMod[effect_id] = mod;

					effect_value = effect_value * buffs[buffID].bardMod[effect_id] / 10;
					mlog(SPELLS__BARDS, "Effect value altered %d with existing bard modifier of %d to yield %d with buffid %i", oval, buffs[buffID].bardMod[effect_id], effect_value, buffID);
				}
			}
			else
			{
					int mod = caster->GetInstrumentMod(spell_id);
					effect_value = effect_value * mod / 10;
					mlog(SPELLS__BARDS, "Effect value %d altered with bard modifier of %d to yield %d", oval, mod, effect_value);
			}
	}

	return(effect_value);
}
in the initialize of the buffs you have to zero the array out of course..eg Client::InitializeBuffSlots in the for loop add

for(int i=0;i<EFFECT_COUNT;i++)
buffs[x].bardMod[i] = 0;

there are probably multiple other places where we 'nullify' out buffs as well that varies on the code base (current/past).
__________________
www.eq2emu.com
EQ2Emu Developer
Former EQEMu Developer / GuildWars / Zek Seasons Servers
Member of the "I hate devn00b" club.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:17 PM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3