Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Archives > Archive::Development > Archive::Development

Archive::Development Archive area for Development's posts that were moved here after an inactivity period of 90 days.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-06-2003, 07:03 PM
var1ety
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 59
Default Compiling/running world/zone on FreeBSD [patch] [long] [1/2]

I'm attaching a link to a patch to let you compile/run zone and world on a FreeBSD machine. Successfully compiled/running/talking on a 4.7-STABLE machine with one small problem, when I select a character to log in with I get booted back to the server select screen. I'm not sure if the cause of this is network configuration or FreeBSD at fault; I will try and look again at my network configuration tomorrow, but it seems alright right now. Messages from world and zone are included at the end of this message, and a unified diff against the 0.4.1 release package is attached.

It seems like the two programs are talking fine, and zone even loads up a zone in response to the player attempting to log in, so not sure what the issue might be.

Anyhow, on to the good stuff: To compile you need the devel/linuxthreads port, MySQL libs/headers, and uh, the other normal stuff. I compiled using gcc version 2.95.4. More info on the sourceforge patch page.

http://sourceforge.net/tracker/index...81&atid=430534

if SF doesn't update with the damned attached file i'll just post a followup with the patch in the message body. Uploading files doesn't seem to work anywhere =P

World/Zone output follows; was using minilogin which was running on a win2k pc with no firewalling =(

*****WORLD*****
[timothy@repose:~/devel/eqemu/bin]$ ./world
Using database 'eq' at localhost
EQEMu 0.4.1 Spekkio
Loading zone names & items...
...done.
LoginServer.ini read.
Loading guild ranks...done.
Loading EQ time of day...done.
Breaking bards...done
World server listening on: port 9000
Connected to LoginServer: 192.168.0.10:5999
New TCP connection: 127.0.0.1:1139
New zoneserver: #1 127.0.0.1:1139
Zoneserver SetConnectInfo: 127.0.0.1:1139: 127.0.0.1:7995
63919 New client from ip: 192.168.0.10 port: 1565
Logged in: Local: eqemu
Guild Send Request...
Sending character information.
Unknown opcode: 0x3541 size:2056
Unknown opcode: 0x3941 size:2056
Unknown opcode: 0x9240 size:12
0: 00 00 00 0E 00 00 00 00 - 00 00 00 00 | ............
Unknown opcode: 0x9240 size:12
0: 00 00 00 0E 00 00 00 00 - 00 00 00 00 | ............
Attempting autobootup of 'gfaydark' for Timothy
Broadcasting a world time update
Zoneserver SetZone: 127.0.0.1:7995 gfaydark
Charlogin: Timothy
Enter world: Timothy: gfaydark
Broadcasting a world time update
Zoneserver SetZone: 127.0.0.1:7995 gfaydark
Broadcasting a world time update
Client disconnected
Removing client from ip:192.168.0.10 port:1565


*****ZONE*****
[timothy@repose:~/devel/eqemu/bin]$ ./zone . 127.0.0.1 7995 127.0.0.1
Using database 'eq' at localhost
EQEMu 0.4.1 Spekkio
Loading zone names, items & NPCs...
...done.
If this is the last message you see, you forgot to move spells_en.txt from your EQ dir to this dir.
Spells loaded.
Loading guild ranks...done.
Loading faction data...done.
Connected to worldserver: 127.0.0.1:9000
Entering sleep mode
Init: Loading zone lists, zone state or spawn list, player corpses, timezone data - Done. ZoneID = 54; Time Offset = 0
Reading zhdr file './cfg/gfaydark.cfg'
Using database for safe coords.
Zone safe coords are x = 10; y = -20; z= 0
Reading zhdr file './cfg/gfaydark.cfg'
Using database for safe coords.
Zone safe coords are x = 10; y = -20; z= 0
Corrupt (or nonexistant) zhdr file ./cfg/gfaydark.cfg -- fread count = 0 (should be 170)
Using default zone header data...
-----------
Zone server 'gfaydark' listening on port:7995
-----------
Received Message SyncWorldTime
Time Broadcast Packet: EQTime [05:54 am]
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-07-2003, 01:22 AM
Joolz
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 25
Default

Without the cfg file, nothing will work.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-07-2003, 09:54 AM
kathgar
Discordant
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 434
Default

Well it seems to be reading the zhdr more than once...unless the c+p screwed it up. There may still be problems with the fbsd netstack.. i would get a packet log and compare from a linux one. Our netcode doesn't work well at all together (linux and win32 and such).
__________________
++[>++++++<-]>[<++++++>-]<.>++++[>+++++<-]>[<
+++++>-]<+.+++++++..+++.>>+++++[<++++++>-]<+
+.<<+++++++++++++++.>.+++.------.--------.>+.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-07-2003, 10:20 AM
var1ety
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 59
Default server

Thank you, Joolz, replacing my cfgs with a fresh set fixed the issue. I can now log in and zone and all that neat crud.

Someone please test the patch =) Gonna add a def to include the headers only if you define freebsd, but dunno how to deal with the makefile changes, which are both integral and non-portable to other OSes.

Also, thank you kathgar, the config thing was a messed up copy and paste, didn't even notice when I pasted =)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-08-2003, 01:48 AM
Trumpcard
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 2,614
Default

make a new makefile called makefilefreebsd and i'll check it in with the other make files.

You'll just need to do a

make -f makefilebsd on freebsd to build it (or you can copy makefilebsd to makefile)

If you ifdef the changes needed, I'll merge it into the baseline.
__________________
Quitters never win, and winners never quit, but those who never win and never quit are idiots.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-08-2003, 05:57 AM
var1ety
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 59
Default Makefiles

Changes are all ifdef'd, I'll move the commented freebsd compile lines to their own makefile and update the readme I included in the diff and repost to SF; thank you for the suggestion, that'll be a lot more elegant and easier to understand =)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-08-2003, 06:24 AM
Trumpcard
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 2,614
Default

Sure thing ! I'll grab it off SF tonight assuming my cable modem starts working again and put the new makefile in.

Nice, another supported OS.
__________________
Quitters never win, and winners never quit, but those who never win and never quit are idiots.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-08-2003, 08:56 PM
var1ety
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 59
Default

uploaded gzipped tarball to sourceforce with entire copies of changed files for windows users out there, updated for cvs, lemme know if they work, or stop something else from working..
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:40 PM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3