Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Archives > Archive::Development > Archive::Database/World Building

Archive::Database/World Building Archive area for General Discussion's posts that were moved here after an inactivity period of 90 days.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #16  
Old 03-23-2003, 04:04 PM
Mandulum
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 16
Default

Not it makes any difference to use regular end users, but what I think the problem is is that since drawde uses his own db.sql it isn't compatible with others items.sql, or doesn't even have the columns for it. Because of this I can't load in any items. Would like to know what Trumpcard is doing because, according to the main page, he's using drawde's newest db
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-23-2003, 05:07 PM
phynias
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1
Default request

Maybe drawde can make a dump of his whole database and release it as db_drawde.sql
May resolve most issues plus would make sense to use the db that he uses for this addon.

- Also does anyone else get errors on loading the db.sql
and then errors after when loading drawdes?
I'm doing this on a brand new database with nothing in it.
Sourcing the db.sql from 4.4dr1 then adding drawdes.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-23-2003, 05:10 PM
Trumpcard
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 2,614
Default

You need to load your items, compare the db.sql you should be using with whats in the items database, and update the table to make items work with the new format.

the updated items field had a minstatus tinyint(3) unsigned field added between the last release and this one. You need to update your items to include this one...

alter table items add column minstatus tinyint(3) unsigned default '0' after raw_data;
__________________
Quitters never win, and winners never quit, but those who never win and never quit are idiots.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-23-2003, 05:29 PM
r4zorfish
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks for the tip Trump. Can you please confirm that Im doing this right?

CREATE TABLE items (
id int(11) NOT NULL default '0',
raw_data blob,
minstatus tinyint(3) unsigned default '0' after raw_data;
PRIMARY KEY (id)
) TYPE=MyISAM;

Thnks in advance
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-23-2003, 05:53 PM
r4zorfish
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2
Default

Hmm I put in the line:

minstatus tinyint(3) unsigned default '0' after raw_data;

into my db.sql, but Im still getting the error: 1136 Collum count doesnt match...at row one.

Im running 4.3 EQEmu with 4.4 DB.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 03-23-2003, 06:06 PM
brainleacher
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 17
Default

I think what Trump means is that you need to use the old items table definition to load telmet's item.db first. Then run the alter table command. Your problem is that your item table's definition has the extra new column in it that your item.sql does not. Get it? It worked fine for me when I loaded the telmet's items.sql on the the old definition first and ran the alter table..

Hope it helps.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 03-23-2003, 07:06 PM
izagod
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Oregon/Standing in the RAin
Posts: 38
Default Ack i installed it now i dont have any spawns

i installed this add on and my spawns all went away :cry: what did i do? i got a back up of my db but would like to fix this one so that i can see all the neat new stuff done in the add on any ideas what i might have done wrong?
__________________
In time you will be Rewarded, as fate follows, you will fear, as time stops, so does life. (izagod) Valudus - GM - Endless Time Server
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 03-23-2003, 09:30 PM
Drawde
Dragon
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 521
Default

Sorry about the lack of items etc. The thing is that this is a DB ADDON, not a full DB, you have to source the basic db.sql, then items, doors, books etc. before loading my addon.

You can download an items DB compatible with the 4.4dr1 code (there was an extra column, minstatus, added to the items table in 4.4dr1) here:
http://www.edwardpinniger.bctalk.net/eq/items_44dr1.zip

About the errors in the faction table, I'll try and track those down ASAP.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 03-24-2003, 03:41 AM
Mandulum
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 16
Default

Anyone know all that's missing? So far I've just noticed doors, books, and magelo. Also, I only know that magelo contains some items, no clue what it is other then that. But it won't source in properly anyway. (same reason items wouldn't i'm guessing)
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 03-24-2003, 04:06 AM
Paglioni
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 11
Default mmm

You are doing a great job drawde...
but... let me give you an advice...
when you are about to release a db, plz... try to load db.sql into a new db, and then your addon...
there are so many errors in db.sql in your 4.4dr1, and a lot more in your addon (factions_list, spawn, and more)

if you fix them ONE time only, each of us will not have to fix them for EVERY release...

your db.sql simply don't load because of a MUCH different
'tradeskillrecipe' definition, from the insert statement.

and your addon has duplicate keys, wrong insert ( ,, in the statement, wrong numbers of columns...)
maybe you can simply do a dump of your running db and do a cut/paste in the txt files...

anyway, thanks for your work
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 03-24-2003, 05:45 AM
Trumpcard
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 2,614
Default

I think the better solution is that next time the database be kept internally until the next emulator release, in which a new db.sql is supplied.

Drawde did this as a favor to get people up and running with the new faction templates. A little work on the part of the users might be required, especially since he was basing the database off CVS code that I sent him.

The updated CVS db.sql is updated frequently on sourceforges CVS, its just a matter of walking over there and downloading it, I personally dont feel Drawde needs to be responsible for testing his database against everyone elses goofy db design. He specificlly stated it had an updated trade skill struct.

I don't understand what can be wrong with his db.sql, it just sounds to me like you didnt know what to do with it. The db.sql does not go over the top of an existing database. If you didnt create a new database, and tried to lay in the new db.sql over the old one, no wonder you got a ton of errors. Thats a user error, not a problem in anything Drawde did. If you had dropped your original database, created a new one, source in the new db.sql, then applied the addon, you would have gotten nothing more than a couple of bugs in a couple of sql files (mostly dupe errors), which will be ignore with a mysql -f insert.


Just my 2 cents.
__________________
Quitters never win, and winners never quit, but those who never win and never quit are idiots.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 03-24-2003, 06:27 AM
dazlpro
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 9
Default Great

Heyas,

Thanks for the items.sql. This database is very enjoyable to play. Im gonna play a lvl 20 char for some hours this evening and give you some feedback.

Great work drawde!

Greetz DazL
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 03-24-2003, 06:46 AM
devlor's Avatar
devlor
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 38
Default

I'm inclined to agree with Trumpcard here. Drawde is putting his own time in on creating these database add-ons for the sake of the community, solely on a volunteer basis (as are all developers involved in EQEmu). Complaining to him to do more work for end-users may only serve to discourage him in making frequent updates in the future. Personally, I feel that a little footwork on the part of those who wish to use these files isn't too much to ask. There's plenty of documentation in both MySQL & EQEmu to go around, & the forums here where just about every zany question under the sun has been asked & answered at least once. Then of course there's plain old common sense.

For the record, I encountered a ton of errors myself initially. Here's what I did to get it working properly:
  • 1) Backed up my old database that was working (always a first step for any wise user)
    2) Dropped the current database
    3) Sourced the updated db.sql in
    4) Sourced the various add-ons from Telmet in
    5) Applied Trumpcard's fix (see above)
    6) Sourced in the items_44dr1.txt Drawde links to (above)
    7) Sourced in Drawde's add-ons

I still got some errors, but I haven't noticed any impact this has on anything in the game, so I'm not too worried about it. If I find something that isn't quite right, I'll look into fixing it myself.

You've done some great work Drawde! Thank you for your excellent add-ons & keep up the good work!
__________________
EQEmu In-Game Help modification
Si fractum non sit, noli id reficere.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 03-24-2003, 07:45 AM
Drawde
Dragon
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 521
Default

The latest db.sql (with the updated tradeskill table, etc.) is in the 4.4dr1 zip
which I posted a link to along with the link to the DB addon.
If you use this as a base for loading my DB addon, the only errors you should get are
genuine errors in my data - e.g some of the factions have the wrong number of columns (I'll
fix this when I can). Another thing that causes error messages is multiple tradeskill recipes
with the same product (e.g blocks of ore can be made either by melting down smaller ones or breaking
up larger ones with a chisel). This isn't supported in EQEmu at the minute (product is a primary
key in tradeskillrecipe) but I put the recipes in anyway, for when they are supported.

Another thing, the reason all the files are .txt rather than .sql is that the text editor I generally
use (EditPad) tends to lock up when loading very large .sql files (presumably it can't cope with all the
parsing and formatting), so I just make them text files to get around this.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 03-24-2003, 10:42 AM
IAKrash
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1
Default adding items...To Mandulum

to add the items, download the items DB from Drawde's orig post. Copy the items_44dr1.txt file to mysql/bin. From MySql type source items_44dr1.txt. that's it...
__________________
It's all fun and games 'till someone losses an arm...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:12 AM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3