Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Archives > Archive::Development > Archive::Quests

Archive::Quests Archive area for Quests's posts that were moved here after an inactivity period of 90 days.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-11-2004, 06:10 AM
Synch
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 33
Default Perl Quest Difficulties

I've spent a little time searching around, and I haven't seen this addressed yet, so I'll ask.

I just added some quests to my server. None of them seem to work. The zones do not go down immediately, so it doesn't look like major syntax errors. I followed the stickied HOWTO at the top of this forum for installing IOScalar and nmake, so that's right, AFAIK. However, whenever I go to a NPC that I know has a quest file associated with him, like the Soulbinder in Shadowhaven or Sirran the Lunatic, I get no response from them if I hail them. In fact, no NPC has responded to my hails yet.

Any idea what might be going on? Zone and World did not give me any errors that I saw.

[edit]

Well, I get a warning about plugin.pl but from what I can tell, that's an optional file. Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-11-2004, 09:59 AM
mew972
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 14
Default

did you put the quests in the right folders?
did you zone out of the zone with the quest person then zone back in?
Are you using the right NPCID?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-11-2004, 12:26 PM
Synch
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 33
Default

Yes, yes and yes. =)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-11-2004, 04:03 PM
koad
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 14
Default

sounds like your on the right track. it moaning about plugin.pl means you have perl support in the binary working.. does zone.exe say it has loaded embperl? and mebbe post a NPCID.pl snippit?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-11-2004, 09:28 PM
Lurker_005
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Tourist town USA
Posts: 1,671
Default

The best way to make sure quests are functioning is to only use a default.pl file with a VERY simple quest.

{eqemu dir}\quests\default.pl
Code:
#default.pl
#test quest to make sure quests are working
sub EVENT_SAY {
	if($text=~/Hail/i){quest::say("Shhh... I am trying to test out questing!");}
}
Remove ALL other quests and restart your server. EVERY mob should reply to a hail now. If not something is wrong. Not compiled right, using wrong directory, using the wrong files, using the wrong quests for your DB.....
__________________
Please read the forum rules and look at reacent messages before posting.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-12-2004, 05:27 AM
Synch
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 33
Default

Alright Lurker, I'll give that a shot. If I'm not mistaken, there's a default.pl for every zone I was trying. What I may do is just rename my quest directory and create a new default.pl for some zone, maybe airplane or freportw and see if that works. If so, I'll know it's the quest files.

Failing that I may try a clean install of the EMU and see if I screwed a configuration setting somewhere that I continually overlook.

Thanks for the help, I'll report here when I get off work and have a chance to see if it worked.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-12-2004, 06:25 AM
Muuss
Dragon
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 539
Default

You may also try a .qst quest... you're perhaps using the wrong binaries... who knows
__________________
Muuss - [PEQGC] Dobl, the ogre that counts for 2 !
http://www.vilvert.fr/page.php?id=10
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-12-2004, 07:36 PM
Lurker_005
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Tourist town USA
Posts: 1,671
Default

perl quests ONLY support 1 global default.pl I made an attempt to enable zone default.pl files, but I don't know enough about C to make it work.
__________________
Please read the forum rules and look at reacent messages before posting.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-13-2004, 12:15 PM
Synch
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 33
Default

The binaries I'm using are the perl enabled ones from Shawn's release of DR2. I created a default.pl file and tried hailing various NPCs. No response. The default.pl I used was one of Lurker's

Quote:
sub EVENT_SAY() {
quest::say("Greetings. $name... I can tell you about [variables] and [commands] or you can give me items.") if ($text=~/hail/i);
quest::say("Want to test a variable? Try [name]. [race]. [class]. [userid]. [ulevel]. [uguildid]. [mobid]. [mlevel]. [faction]. [zonesn]. [zoneln]. or [status]") if ($text=~/variabl/i);
quest::say("name = $name") if($text=~/name/i);
quest::say("race = $race") if($text=~/race/i);
quest::say("class = $class") if($text=~/class/i);
quest::say("userid = $userid") if($text=~/userid/i);
quest::say("ulevel = $ulevel") if($text=~/ulevel/i);
quest::say("uguildid = $uguildid") if($text=~/uguildid/i);
quest::say("mobid = $mobid") if($text=~/mobid/i);
quest::say("mlevel = $mlevel") if($text=~/mlevel/i);
quest::say("faction = $faction") if($text=~/faction/i);
quest::say("zonesn = $zonesn") if($text=~/zonesn/i);
quest::say("zoneln = $zoneln") if($text=~/zoneln/i);
quest::say("status = $status") if($text=~/status/i);
quest::say("Want to test a command? Try [emote]. [shout]. [spawn]. [echo]. [summonitem]. [castspell]. [depop]. [cumflag]. [flagnpc]. [flagclient].[exp]. [level]. [safemove]. [rain]. [snow]. [givecash]. [pvp]. [doanim]. [addskill]. or [me]") if($text=~/command/i);
quest::emote("emotes before you.") if ($text=~/emote/i);
quest::shout("Is this shouting?") if ($text=~/shout/i);
quest::say("I don't feel like spawning anything right now") if($text=~/spawn/i);
quest::echo("this is an echo echo echo echo echo") if ($text=~/echo/i);
quest::summonitem(17969) if ($text=~/summonitem/i);
quest::castspell(278, $id) if ($text=~/castspell/i);
quest::say("awww... I don't wanna!") if ($text=~/depop/i);
quest::exp(100) if ($text=~/exp/i);
quest::level($ulevel + 1) if ($text=~/level/i);
quest::safemove() if ($text=~/safemove/i);
quest::rain(1) if ($text=~/rain/i);
quest::snow(1) if ($text=~/snow/i);
quest::givecash(0,0,0,50) if ($text=~/givecash/i);
quest::pvp("on") if ($text=~/pvp/i);
quest::doanim(3) if ($text=~/doanim/i);
quest::me("The heavens applaud you.") if ($text=~/me/i);
}
Still stuck. No errors listed in Zone or World output... any further ideas guys?

*edit*
Lurker, I tried removing all the quests and using only your default.pl that you listed above. Still no response. Something odd is afoot. I checked zone.exe and it does state that embperl is loaded. This irks me as I used to program CGIs in perl and I can't seem to get something as simple as this working. I knew I should have stuck with UNIX. =)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-13-2004, 12:23 PM
Lurker_005
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Tourist town USA
Posts: 1,671
Default

well, copy and paste your zone and world output, perhaps even a dir listing of your quests dir (show the path too)
__________________
Please read the forum rules and look at reacent messages before posting.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-13-2004, 12:25 PM
Synch
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 33
Default

Here's my zone.exe output:

Quote:
[Status] CURRENT_ZONE_VERSION: EQEMu 0.5.3-DR2
[Status] Loading Variables
[Status] Loading zone names
[Status] Loading items
[Status] EMuShareMem loaded
[Status] Loading npcs
[Status] Loading NPCTypes from database...
[Status] Loading npc faction lists
[Status] Loading NPC Faction Lists from database...
[Status] Loading loot tables
[Status] Loading Loot tables from database...
[Status] Loading doors
[Status] Loading Doors from database...
[Status] FileLoadSPDat() Loading spells from spells_us.txt
[Status] FileLoadSPDat() spells loaded: 4578
[Status] Loading guilds
[Status] Loading factions
[Status] Loading corpse timers
[Status] Loading what ever is left
[Status] Loading commands
[Status] 151 commands loaded
[Status] Loading embedded perl
[Status] Loading perlemb plugins.
[Status] Warning - plugin.pl: Perl runtime error: open 'plugin.pl' No such file
or directory at (eval 3) line 1.

[Status] Entering sleep mode
Connected to worldserver: 192.168.0.100:9000
Here's World
Quote:
[Status] CURRENT_WORLD_VERSION:EQEMu 0.5.3-DR2
[Status] Loading variables..
[Status] Loading zones..
[Status] Loading items..
[Status] EMuShareMem loaded
[Status] Loading items from database: count=26699, max id=68199
[Status] LoginServer.ini read.
[Status] Loading guild ranks..
[Status] Loading addon.ini..
[Status] Loading EQ time of day..
[Status] Reboot zone modes ON
[Status] Deleted 0 stale player corpses from database
[Status] Deleted 0 stale player backups from database
Breaking bards...done
TCP listening on: 24.170.122.234:9000
World server listening on: 24.170.122.234:9000
Connected to LoginServer: eqlogin1.eqemulator.net:5997
Hang on, I'll get you the directory listing.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-13-2004, 12:27 PM
Synch
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 33
Default

Here's the quests directory.

Quote:
C:\eqemu\quests>dir
Volume in drive C has no label.
Volume Serial Number is 4C37-8525

Directory of C:\eqemu\quests

01/13/2004 06:17 PM <DIR> .
01/13/2004 06:17 PM <DIR> ..
01/13/2004 06:17 PM 157 default.pl
1 File(s) 157 bytes
2 Dir(s) 30,181,982,208 bytes free

C:\eqemu\quests>
There were more quests, but I've moved them to another directory so that I could test with just this simple default.pl. Once I get this working, I'll move them back and we'll see if they work.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-13-2004, 12:38 PM
Lurker_005
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Tourist town USA
Posts: 1,671
Default

Man it does all look right! Let me try the binaries shawn released yesterday and see if they behave differently for me.
__________________
Please read the forum rules and look at reacent messages before posting.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-13-2004, 12:41 PM
Synch
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 33
Default

Thanks for the help Lurker. If it turns out that Shawn's binaries have a flaw (ah, beta... ^.^) then I'll probably await the official 0.5.3 release. Do we know if perl will be enabled by default or will I need to recompile? Neither is a problem, of course innate compiled support is less of a hassle. =)
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-13-2004, 12:46 PM
Lurker_005
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Tourist town USA
Posts: 1,671
Default

patching.. yada yada...
(been using dr1 till they got things working good again)

by the way create an empty plugin.pl file in your eqemu dir to get rid of the warning.
__________________
Please read the forum rules and look at reacent messages before posting.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:05 PM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3