Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Support > Support::Windows Servers

Support::Windows Servers Support forum for Windows EQEMu users.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-20-2009, 03:05 PM
Randymarsh9
Dragon
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 658
Default How to recompile

I know this is a very noobish question, but if I edit something in the source and want it to take effect, how would I actually go about doing that?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-20-2009, 04:51 PM
pfyon's Avatar
pfyon
Discordant
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 495
Default

What operating system are you using?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-20-2009, 05:00 PM
trevius's Avatar
trevius
Developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 5,946
Default

The wiki has tons of information if you search it a bit. Here is a post about a wiki page that should give you the info you need:

http://www.eqemulator.net/forums/showthread.php?t=28303
__________________
Trevazar/Trevius Owner of: Storm Haven
Everquest Emulator FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions) - Read It!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-11-2009, 07:59 PM
Randymarsh9
Dragon
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 658
Default

I am trying to recompile using that guide but I've already ran into a problem, idk how to install zlib. I just have a folder with everything in it and I'm not sure how to use a .dll
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-12-2009, 12:22 AM
Randymarsh9
Dragon
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 658
Default

I did everything that that guide says and it isnt working at all. I keep succeeding and 1 build and getting 6 failures. One thing i noticed a few times was
Code:
LINK : fatal error LNK1181: cannot open input file 'zlib.lib'
even though I am almost certain I pointed it to the places it says in the guide.
I also saw a ton of things like
Code:
7>c:\documents and settings\hp_administrator\my documents\solo server\source\common\../common/servertalk.h(443) : warning C4200: nonstandard extension used : zero-sized array in struct/union
7>        Cannot generate copy-ctor or copy-assignment operator when UDT contains a zero-sized array
I did everything that guide said, I even got the new perl and installed it correctly.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-12-2009, 12:25 AM
Shendare
Dragon
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: California
Posts: 814
Default

The warnings are many and harmless.

As for zlib, if you have added the zlib lib and include directories to your VC++ environment, you may need make a copy of zlib\lib\zdll.lib as zlib.lib.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-12-2009, 01:10 AM
Randymarsh9
Dragon
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 658
Default

......what?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-12-2009, 02:16 AM
blackdragonsdg
Dragon
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 654
Default

Open Visual Studio and go to the tools menu and select options. Expand the Projects and Solutions menu in the left pane then choose VC++ Directories. Look for where it says Show directories for: and select Include Files. Now add the file path to the zlib.lib file.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-12-2009, 06:24 AM
mixxit
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 155
Default

That's because the guide links a file that doesn't have zlib.lib in it

It has a file called zdll.lib which you can just rename to zlib.lib without issues if you are compiling with Visual Studio 2008
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-12-2009, 09:49 AM
Zandig's Avatar
Zandig
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: New York City
Posts: 180
Default

The guide is for Express Edition.

I haven't tried the full version so I can't comment on that.

You do not have to rename any zlib file using Express Edition.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07-12-2009, 01:02 PM
Randymarsh9
Dragon
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 658
Default

well I renamed everything in C:\zlib\lib to be zlib instead of zdll, but I still failed 6 builds. When I look at it it still says stuff like fatal error: cannot open zlib.li. I have C:\zlib\lib and C:\zlib\include both in my directories thing too
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-12-2009, 01:20 PM
Shendare
Dragon
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: California
Posts: 814
Default

To clarify blackgragonsdg's instructions, the lib folder must be in your "Library files" list, and the include folder must be in your "Include files" list. Make sure it's set this way.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-12-2009, 02:35 PM
Randymarsh9
Dragon
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 658
Default

ok so can anyone just give an actual list of the things u need to add into the directories and what part? It's kinda hard trying to balance between what you all say and what the guide says
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-12-2009, 02:43 PM
Shendare
Dragon
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: California
Posts: 814
Default

http://www.eqemulator.net/wiki/wikka.php?wakka=VS2008

According to the guide, we are following the instructions, specifically this part:

Quote:
5) Update your Microsoft Visual C+(+) 2008 Express Edition directories:
'Tools/Options/Projects and Solutions/VC+(+) directories'
and add the following directories using the dropdown "Show directories for" box:

* Include files: C:\mysql\include
* Include files: C:\perl\lib\CORE
* Include files: C:\zlib\include
* Library files: C:\mysql\lib\opt
* Library files: C:\perl\lib\CORE
* Library files: C:\zlib\lib


use the "New Line (Ctrl-Insert)" to add the above directories in the appropriate section.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-12-2009, 03:02 PM
Randymarsh9
Dragon
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 658
Default

sweet I finally got it to have all 7 succeed
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:47 AM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3