Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Archives > Archive::Development > Archive::Development

Archive::Development Archive area for Development's posts that were moved here after an inactivity period of 90 days.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-21-2002, 09:50 AM
Kaiyodo
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Midlands,UK
Posts: 149
Default Duel Wield / Double attack code, and some other stuff ..

I've been playing around with the EQEmu code for a bit now, so I thought I'd release the code changes I'd made to the 0.2.3 version in case anyone would like to try them too.

Here's what's different from the stock 0.2.3 ...

- Double attack and duel wield implemented for the classes that can use them.
- Damage calculation code re-written to use monkly business forumla for min/max hit and damage bonuses.
- Basic proccing weapon support.
- 2H piercing works.
- Monk/Beastlord hand to hand damage/delay changes based on level
- Monk epic changes fists to 9/16
- Very basic haste support (defaults to 0%, use #haste to modify)

There's a textfile in the .zip with more detailed changes for anyone that wants to compile these files, or see what changes I've made.

I've not tested everything extensively, so no guarentees, but it seems to work ok for me

Have fun

K.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-21-2002, 10:11 AM
Minara
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 36
Default

We are not worthy! *bow* One of you devs needs to put this stuff in now! *cracks the infamous Jerle-Whip*
__________________
Jerle the Magnificent
Level 100 Oracle of Gotfrags.com
Event Admin
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-21-2002, 10:19 AM
Nada
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 87
Default

Kaiyodo omg dude thanks so frekin much!!!! Finally dual wield im really happy right now. Keep up the good work, im sure the dev's will be looking at this.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-21-2002, 11:13 AM
Baron Sprite's Avatar
Baron Sprite
Dragon
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 708
Default

Kaiyodo, please start mailing us towels to clean up with after we read your posts ::o
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-21-2002, 11:16 AM
Minara
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 36
Default

*looks at baron sprite* .....
__________________
Jerle the Magnificent
Level 100 Oracle of Gotfrags.com
Event Admin
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-22-2002, 02:02 AM
Kaiyodo
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Midlands,UK
Posts: 149
Default

Just found a couple of bugs in my client_process.cpp releated to Beastlords and Bards, i.e. classes that get DW but not DA. I can see what the bugs are, but I'm not going to have a chance to test the fixes before my lunch hour is over

Here's what I think needs doing ..

in 'bool Client::CanThisClassDuelWield(void)' change skill check to use DW rather than DA (doh!)

in 'bool Client::CanThisClassDoubleAttack(void)' change skill check to use DA rather than DW (doh, again)

Line 102, put in a check to see if the class can actually double attack before double attacking with the offhand. i.e. wrap the second attack in a if(CanThisClassDoubleAttack()) { ... }

I'll post a new version of the file once I've checked these fixes work.

K.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-22-2002, 07:58 AM
Kaiyodo
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Midlands,UK
Posts: 149
Default

Right, those fixes seemed to work. I've attached the modified client_process.cpp. Bards and Beastlords should be able to Dual wield properly.

I noticed a new problem while messing about with my Beastlord, you don't seem to be able to #level them in 0.2.3. It's down to the function GetEXPForLevel() in Client.cpp which contains the line :

Code:
if (tmprace >= 14 || GetClass() < 1 || GetClass() > 14)
   return 0xFFFFFFFF;
Need to change the second '14' to '15' as that's the Beastlord class id.

K.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-22-2002, 08:54 AM
Shawn319
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,073
Default

Why don't you join the chat room when ya have some time? thay'd probably be the best way to get the word out about your changes since most of the hardcore users and all the coders hang out there
__________________
Shawn319
Semi-Retired EQ Addict

(Retired)EQEmu Lead Tester
(Retired)EQEmu Tech Support

(Retired)Host/ServerOP - [LIVE] Official EQEmu Test Server
(Retired)Host/ServerOP - Shawn319's All-GM Dev Test Server
(Retired)ServerOP - EQEmu Beta Server
(Retired)ServerOP - GuildWars Server
(Retired)ServerOP - Raid Addicts
--------------------------
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-22-2002, 09:09 AM
Razzle
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 54
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Baron Sprite
Kaiyodo, please start mailing us towels to clean up with after we read your posts ::o
I just make sure I'm not wearing any pants, and usually that saves me from washing them.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-23-2002, 06:42 AM
Drawde
Dragon
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 521
Default

Your additions look really good.
However I have never managed to successfully compile the EQEmu source (I have MSVC++ 4.0) and I'm sure there are many others who have the same problem or don't have any compiler at all. Is there any possibility you could release the compiled zone/world server .exe with your additions?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-23-2002, 07:23 AM
Nada
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 87
Default

I wouldnt mind that also, if you could do that kaiyodo.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-23-2002, 07:29 AM
DeletedUser
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 0
Default

I believe EQEmu requires version 5 of C++
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-23-2002, 08:21 AM
Kaiyodo
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Midlands,UK
Posts: 149
Default

I can certainly compile up a version, providing the dev team don't mind. I've got nowhere to host the files though, and I can't post them here as it'll going to break the attachment limit quite considerably. If anyone can help me with that, or point me in the direction of somewhere I can post the files I'll be glad to.

My versions of ZoneNT.exe and Zone9x.exe take up 468k when zipped.

K.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-23-2002, 08:34 AM
hogosha
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 2
Default Can someone send me the files

Can someone compile the code he put in and send em to me? I don't have C++ or any compiler.
__________________
[three-geeks.org]
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-23-2002, 09:25 AM
Kaiyodo
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Midlands,UK
Posts: 149
Default

Well, I just created a Geocities website and uploaded the modified exes, here's the link ..

http://www.geocities.com/kaiyodouk/index.html

Those exes are the latest ones I'm working with, only difference from the code I posted is that hand to hand weapons now work.

Drop these over your existing ZoneNT and Zone9x from 0.2.3 and everything should be happy. Same disclaimer that I posted with the code applies, they work on my machine

My ISP is having a DNS fit at the moment, I've managed to download the file once to test it, but now I can't even see geocities. If that link doesn't work, I'll try and sort it out as soon as my modem can see the US again

K.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:42 PM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3