Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Archives > Archive::Support > Archive::General Support

Archive::General Support Archive area for General Support's posts that were moved here after an inactivity period of 90 days.

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-05-2003, 12:43 PM
Mord-Sith
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 5
Default LAN Server Issues (Reviewed up to 4 pages)

Hello everyone,

First off, I did review the first 4 pages of the support forum and searched without success so please, if I missed it, just point me to the answer...

I'm setting up a LAN Server for me and the other 7 computers on my Local Network. The issue I'm having is that I am able to connect to the server using my local (server) computer and play normally on the emulator yet when I try to log in using any other computer (Different Accounts) it dumps them to either a 1007 error or logs them into my account even with a different password.

Things I've already done :

Patched all Clients using provided patch
Reinstalled the server 2 dozen times up to the 0.4.4-DR1 release
Tried every combonation I can think of to get the files setup

It will work for just me logging in using the eqemu account but not for any other... Suggestions?


--
Server LAN IP : 192.168.123.2
-
Client IPs' : 192.168.123.4 - 192.168.123.11
--
MiniLoginAccounts.ini

192.168.123.2 eqemu eqemu
192.168.123.2 act1 act1
192.168.123.2 act2 act2
192.168.123.2 act3 act3
192.168.123.2 act4 act4
192.168.123.2 act5 act5
  #2  
Old 04-05-2003, 06:44 PM
EQFriki
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 5
Default Re: LAN Server Issues (Reviewed up to 4 pages)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mord-Sith
-
Client IPs' : 192.168.123.4 - 192.168.123.11
--
MiniLoginAccounts.ini

192.168.123.2 eqemu eqemu
192.168.123.2 act1 act1
192.168.123.2 act2 act2
192.168.123.2 act3 act3
192.168.123.2 act4 act4
192.168.123.2 act5 act5

You need to edit your miniloginaccounts.ini, add all of your client ips and the user name you want to grant access from that client. For example :

192.168.123.2 eqemu eqemu
192.168.123.4 act1 act1
192.168.123.5 act2 act2
192.168.123.6 act3 act3
192.168.123.7 act4 act4
192.168.123.8 act5 act5

That should work.
  #3  
Old 04-06-2003, 04:40 AM
Mord-Sith
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 5
Default

I just noticed that, still didn't work.

Do I have to also manually add in those account names to the SQL database? (act1 act2 act3..)
  #4  
Old 04-06-2003, 08:59 AM
EQFriki
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 5
Default Sure

Every account you want to use has to be added into the database using a sql-statement or the EQAdmin Tool, most recent is 4.5
  #5  
Old 04-06-2003, 11:12 AM
Mord-Sith
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 5
Default

Thats what I thought, so I setup the following information.

(It's all LAN Based so I don't care about UID's and passwords. )

EQEmu Admin 4.5 Reports

Accounts Tab

id 1
name eqemu
charname Mord
packencrypt (BLOB)
password eqemu
status 200
lsaccount_id
gmspeed 0

id 2
name wj
charname
packencrypt (BLOB)
password wj
status 200
lsaccount_id
gmspeed 0

--

Ok, and now my miniloginaccounts.ini reads

192.168.123.2 eqemu eqemu
192.168.123.4 wj wj

--

The eqemu account works fine but the wj account always kicks back a 1007 error while attempting to join the server and on the world console it says that the incorrect password was specified for account wj.

I'm completely out of ideas. :P
  #6  
Old 04-06-2003, 01:31 PM
singrym
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 6
Default

having the exact same issue and have tried about everything and can't get any machine but the server to connect
  #7  
Old 04-06-2003, 06:05 PM
New2EQEmu
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2
Default

Make sure that every account in the database has a different lsaccount_id number. I found that if this value is NULL, you cannot log in with that account Usually the first account will be 1, second 2 and so on. Do not duplicate the numbers.
  #8  
Old 04-06-2003, 06:45 PM
Mord-Sith
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 5
Default

Added in the

1
2

Respectivly, same error. Second account can NOT log in. :P

Any Dev's loitering around that can shead some light on this?
  #9  
Old 04-06-2003, 08:11 PM
tcsmyworld's Avatar
tcsmyworld
Discordant
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 452
Default try this.......

I run the emu on a small LAN, Ifound that i needed the ip address of the server to be in both sides of the boot5zones.bat - i.e.

@echo off
start zone . 192.168.0.1 7995 192.168.0.1
exit

and the acct id's in sequence starting with 1 and the lsaccount id's in sequence starting with 0.
also the accts list in the miniloginaccounts.ini need to in the same order as the accounts in the DB.
hope this helps.
  #10  
Old 04-06-2003, 09:08 PM
xelnagan
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Hell -.-;;
Posts: 66
Default Here's a solution that worked for me.

Right, take a looksie here. Last night I had to figure this out on my own, and well... I did it.

This is my LoginServer.ini file.

Code:
[LoginServer]
loginserver=localhost
loginserver2=localhost
loginport=5999
loginport2=5999
worldname=Xelnagan's
worldaddress=192.168.0.130
locked=false
account=
password=

[WorldServer]
Defaultstatus=
Unavailzone=

[LoginConfig]
ServerMode=Standalone
ServerPort=5999
UplinkAddress=
UplinkPort=
UplinkAccount=
UplinkPassword=
Notice how the worldaddress is not 127.0.0.1 or localhost? Yeah, if you leave it like that, the additional clients logging on will be trying to log onto a server on their own computer, which is non-existant, hence the 1017.

This is my Boot5zones.bat file.

Code:
start zone . 192.168.0.130 7995 192.168.0.130
start zone . 192.168.0.130 7996 192.168.0.130
start zone . 192.168.0.130 7997 192.168.0.130
start zone . 192.168.0.130 7998 192.168.0.130
start zone . 192.168.0.130 7999 192.168.0.130
Again, this needs to be the host computer's IP and not 127.0.0.1 or localhost, otherwise the additional clients will be trying to load it from their own computer... Again...

This is my MiniLoginAccounts.ini.

Code:
192.168.0.130 eqemu eqemu
192.168.0.1 joe blow
Each client's log account must be bound to THEIR IP, otherwise they will be accessing eqemu every time(yes, even if you use different login information). I also noticed it wasn't accepting accounts until I booted up EQAdmin and set the passwords in the database for the accounts.

Last, but not least... This is my eqhost.txt for the other computers/clients, the host should be using the second one I list.

Code:
[Registration Servers]
{
"192.168.0.130:5999"
}
[Login Servers]
{
"192.168.0.130:5999"
}
Code:
[Registration Servers]
{
"localhost:5999"
}
[Login Servers]
{
"localhost:5999"
}
Replace 192.168.0.130 with your IP and everything should be fine(with the exception of replacing account names, passwords, and user IPs in MiniLoginAccounts.ini).

Good luck with that =D I've tested it, and it's working like a charm.

- Xelnagan
  #11  
Old 04-07-2003, 02:53 AM
singrym
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 6
Default

i've done exactly what you've shown three times from scratch, the host machine can always, ALWAYS get in the game just fine but ANY other machine on the LAN gets the stupid 1017 error. Is there anything else i could be missing that'd cause this?
  #12  
Old 04-07-2003, 08:29 AM
singrym
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 6
Default

well i finally got it to work on both machines at the same time. I was stumped on my machine, the one that constantly gave the 1017 so I installed mysql and setup my machine as the server and tried to connect. Damn thing still gave a 1017.

The solution, silly as it may sound, was to run everquest by going to the DOS prompt and doing d:\eq\eqgame.exe patchme

I HAD been doing d:\eq\eagame patchme
that didn't work, worked fine on the other machine, doesn't work on mine. I had also been using EQwin on my machine, doesn't work, works fine on the other machine.
  #13  
Old 04-07-2003, 11:11 AM
Mord-Sith
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 5
Default

Now I'm getting frustrated. :(

I coppied the example to the letter and tried again... Result?

Console from Minilogin.exe

LoginServer.ini read.
MiniLoginAccounts.ini read.
Server mode: Standalone
Login server listening on port:5999
New TCP connection: 192.168.123.2:1060
54929 New client from ip: 192.168.123.4 port: 1799
Client disconnected (eqnc-)GetState()=102)

And the client never reached the World.exe Console. Dropped back to server select with 1017 error.

I'm so close to just giving up and going back to EthernalQuest (Ick) as I can use it to connect more than one machine without this hassle.

I tried to the letter what xelnagan while only substituting the IP Addresses with my own, I even tried those account names and having ONLY those accounts in the database (Basically fresh reinstall).

FAIL

This is a joke and it isn't funny. :(
  #14  
Old 06-11-2003, 07:56 PM
Casino
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1
Default

I was able to login from LAN connection.

images

Host PC(192.168.0.1) Running Eqemu.
and two eqw clients.

Client PC(192.168.0.11) Running one eqw client

here is my ini files

Code:
>>>>> MiniLoginaccount.ini  

192.168.0.1 eqemu eqemu
192.168.0.11 eqemu eqemu

>>>>> LoginServer.ini 

[LoginServer]
loginserver=192.168.0.1
loginserver2=192.168.0.1
loginport=5999
loginport2=5999
worldname=mamama
worldaddress=192.168.0.1
locked=false
account=	
password=

[WorldServer]
Defaultstatus=
Unavailzone=

[LoginConfig]
ServerMode=Standalone
ServerPort=5999
UplinkAddress=
UplinkPort=
UplinkAccount=
UplinkPassword=
it use only one account (name='eqemu',password='eqemu')
but can login multipul character.
  #15  
Old 06-22-2003, 05:10 PM
psychoph
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1
Default

You also shoudl make sure that when you ad accounts that you give the accounts grant all privledges in the database.
 


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:47 PM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3