|
|
 |
 |
 |
 |
|
 |
 |
|
 |
 |
|
 |
|
Archive::General Discussion Archive area for General Discussion's posts that were moved here after an inactivity period of 90 days. |

03-28-2002, 07:14 PM
|
Dragon
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 633
|
|
Questions to Devs, about old DBs
Okay, a few changes are upcoming.
1) Z-Axis.
2) NPC tables (AI, etc)
3) Old EQ Emu Admin no longer will work.
Okay, questions now.
1) If there is a Z-Axis adjustment, will a program be given to us to convert all old Z-Axis locs into new ones? Say, if it divides by 6.4 on the worlds' Z locs to get 'real' Z-Axis loc, will we get a program that divides OUR Z locs? (To keep them in the same place)
2) Will we be given SOME way to keep our old NPC spawns? I, myself, am at 15000 spawns in my DB and gaining. Starting a-new would ruin the game for me, because I like to hunt stuff, not #spawn and #kill. Just curious.
3) Will we get a new EQ Emu Admin or attachment for it?
Thanks for questions
/cheer
|

03-29-2002, 01:48 AM
|
Fire Beetle
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 0
|
|
1. The Z-Axis might get fixed.. this is if I can find a common offset with all of them in a bunch of zones... results of that will be coming soon. If we fix it we'll tell you what we did, or how we had to offset it to fix it.. but it's your job to update your locs, sorry.
2. You *CAN* keep them, we're just adding new feilds to them I believe.... so you might need to update them a little to support the new columns.
3. The admin program is Windcatcher's, however since there has been a lack of updates even when reported broke I'm working on version 2.5 of it ATM... just having the programs with delphi being mad at me =D But I'll get there. The admin program from me though is in no way a promise, so it's a 50/50 chance I'll release one.
|

03-29-2002, 02:48 AM
|
Dragon
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 521
|
|
I'll try and get a new 2.7-compatible version of my world data up as soon as I can, I'll have to update my parser to include the new NPC variables though. I HOPE the Z-axis shouldn't be too hard to fix too..
|

03-29-2002, 03:02 AM
|
Demi-God
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 2,614
|
|
Yea, having the z-fix in would make alot of the underground zones fully playable. As it stands now, most zones like Dalnir's/Chardok/Sebilis end up with a monster blob at the safe point (watch your framerates there!). I'd have to put the zfix at the top of my want lists.. Ive been looking at it, but admittedly, Im not good enough yet with the code base to figure it out, but I plan on keeping working with it.
Ultimately, I'd like to be able to drop Drawde a few dozen zones full of spawnlog data from showeq, have him run it through his parser, and end up with a properly spawned dungeon close to current eq. Once all the loc's within the emu are finalized and 1-1 with live eq, I think thats when the alternate world builders can really get to work and well really start to see some diversity in eq realms.
Just my 2 cents though
|

03-29-2002, 04:55 AM
|
Dragon
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 521
|
|
I've started adding some of the data from Trumpcard's spawn log to my parser input list, but it is taking quite a while - I'm having to add it by hand since it only lists the NPC's location and level, not HPs, class etc (these I'm just having to extrapolate). I've nearly done Stonebrunt Mountains.
I've done a lot of Z fixing as well, Nagafen's Lair, Guk, Sebilis, and some other zones now have most spawns in the right place. Haven't done Chardok yet though.
What exactly is the database Z fix/modification you are talking about, and how does it work?
|

03-29-2002, 09:00 AM
|
Discordant
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 289
|
|
Z would like to point out that he doesn't WANT to be 'fixed' and wonders why you all seem to have a vested interest in seeing him 'fixed' -- he said in the 3rd person 
__________________
gm-Zeitgeist
I WAS Diligently Working at the Next Board Title :p
webmaster godmonkey.com, dreamusher.com
|

03-29-2002, 10:10 PM
|
Fire Beetle
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 0
|
|
Basically the offset in the emu is wrong somehow wrong... it's offset would be my guess by a certain amount. ATM it's showing that it's 40 below EQ, but I cannot verify that it's a constant rate yet.. I'll post soon what I conclude.
|
 |
|
 |

03-30-2002, 07:02 AM
|
Demi-God
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Tourist town USA
Posts: 1,671
|
|
As for fixing the databases if the Z, and X,Y are changed. This can all be done in mysql. Perhaps someone with a little more SQL knowledge than me can verify the update Sql comand samples I posted below. Granted due to some Z locs being fixed by hand and some not, it may be best to do so by zone, or start back with the original Z locs.
WARNING: These are samples, do not use this unles you know what your doing, and why!
A stab at a sample update Z command
Code:
Update spawn2 set z=z/10 WHERE zone = 'kael';
At any rate it would be a quick way to verify some gusses as to the Z modifier for the whole zone. Run the query, respawn zone, check the safe spot.
The X Y thing I think would need a temp column, something like this
Code:
alter table spawn2 ADD COLUMN xtmp float NOT NULL default '0';
Update spawn2 set xtmp=x;
Update spawn2 set x=y;
Update spawn2 set y=xtmp;
alter table spawn2 DROP COLUMN xtmp;
Edit: These 2 code snipits are tested on kael and will correctly spawn all of kael from the ShowEQ spawn log locs (EQEmu version 0.2.6) The Z is a little off, but they spawn fine.
|
 |
|
 |

03-30-2002, 08:01 AM
|
Dragon
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 521
|
|
So basically I just need to change all the Z coordinates by 40 (or whatever you decide it needs to be changed by)?
That should be easy enough to do by modifying the parser. Let me know when you've figured out the correct offset value (if you want)
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:42 PM.
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
 |