Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Support > Support::Windows Servers

Support::Windows Servers Support forum for Windows EQEMu users.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-07-2008, 12:20 PM
audioblivious
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 44
Default error unable to load eqtime.cfg

how do i fix this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-07-2008, 03:44 PM
Congdar
Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: my own little world
Posts: 751
Default

create a text file called eqtime.cfg and put it in your c:\eqemu folder. Put this in the eqtime.cfg file:

1000
4
26
1
2
1600930
1196215337
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-07-2008, 04:38 PM
RamsiMage
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 26
Default

I used this same file and it worked fine. But can someone break down what each number refers to?

Thks.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-08-2008, 02:31 AM
audioblivious
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 44
Default

ok thanks alot not one more question is there a way to auto load zones where i dont have to start them manually?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-08-2008, 04:42 AM
Congdar
Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: my own little world
Posts: 751
Default

you shouldn't need to manually load a zone. your start.bat file should have a line:

start eqlaunch.exe zone

and in your database the table: launcher should have name=zone and dynamics=5 and this should be all you need. This will have all your zones be dynamically loaded when you zone to them. If there are particular zones that you want to be running at all times (static zone) then enter them into the table launcher_zones for example the Plane of Knowledge zone would be: launcher=zone zone=poknowledge and port=0
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-08-2008, 01:14 PM
audioblivious
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 44
Default

i just want to have it load the zones auto
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-20-2008, 04:59 AM
Sabyre's Avatar
Sabyre
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Congdar View Post
create a text file called eqtime.cfg and put it in your c:\eqemu folder. Put this in the eqtime.cfg file:

1000
4
26
1
2
1600930
1196215337
What do these numbers represent?
__________________
.......
...
.
"We are the music makers and we are the dreamers of the dreams" - Willy Wonka
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-20-2008, 05:51 AM
Congdar
Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: my own little world
Posts: 751
Default

dunno, I copied them from another post about eqtime.cfg. It does seem to set the date and time but it never changes or updates so it's always the same time at server startup.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-21-2008, 06:57 AM
AndMetal
Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 648
Default

It looks like support for eqtime.cfg was added back in 0.3.13:

Quote:
  • Time of day now saves in a file (eqtime.cfg).
I just checked mine, and this is what it looks like:

Code:
1000
1
9
0
1
3100
1202280602
So it looks like it does change (mine shows last modified a few days ago, possibly when the server was last restarted).

In-game, the time is showing as Sunday, January 01, 3100 - 3PM. So, the 3100 (6th line) seems to correspond to the year. I would assume that the first row is the binary form of the day of the week, and the 2nd & 5th rows are the month & day. Everything else I'm not sure about.

The best thing to do would be change some values & restart the server. Worse case scenario, you have to change it back
__________________
GM-Impossible of 'A work in progress'
A non-legit PEQ DB server
How to create your own non-legit server

My Contributions to the Wiki
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-21-2008, 07:31 AM
Congdar
Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: my own little world
Posts: 751
Default

my file hasn't changed since december 2007 when i created it. how is yours getting updated?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-21-2008, 07:38 AM
Sabyre's Avatar
Sabyre
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 88
Default

I have also noticed that the time will change depending on the zone you are in. I have seen 3100 and I have also seen 0000.

I wish this could be clarified as I would love to see the time system work properly.
__________________
.......
...
.
"We are the music makers and we are the dreamers of the dreams" - Willy Wonka
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-24-2008, 04:04 PM
AndMetal
Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 648
Default

I did a little poking around the source, and discovered there is actually an eqtime.h & eqtime.cpp. The header doesn't really help, but I did find this:

eqtime.cpp
Code:
  138 bool EQTime::saveFile(const char *filename)
  139 {
  140 	ofstream of;
  141 	of.open(filename);
  142 	if(!of)
  143 	{
  144 		LogFile->write(EQEMuLog::Error, "EQTime::saveFile failed: Unable to open file '%s'", filename);
  145 		return false;
  146 	}
  147 	//Enable for debugging
  148 	//cout << "SAVE: day=" << (long)eqTime.start_eqtime.day << ";hour=" << (long)eqTime.start_eqtime.hour << ";min=" << (long)eqTime.start_eqtime.minute << ";mon=" << (long)eqTime.start_eqtime.month << ";yr=" << eqTime.start_eqtime.year << ";timet=" << eqTime.start_realtime << endl;
  149 	of << EQT_VERSION << endl;
  150 	of << (long)eqTime.start_eqtime.day << endl;
  151 	of << (long)eqTime.start_eqtime.hour << endl;
  152 	of << (long)eqTime.start_eqtime.minute << endl;
  153 	of << (long)eqTime.start_eqtime.month << endl;
  154 	of << eqTime.start_eqtime.year << endl;
  155 	of << eqTime.start_realtime << endl;
  156 	of.close();
  157 	return true;
  158 }
In short, this is the format of the eqtime.cfg file:

Code:
EQTime Version (should be 1000)
Day
Hour
Minute
Month
Year
Actual Time (Unix timestamp)
Actually, after diving into the forums, I actually found this post:
Quote:
Originally Posted by fathernitwit View Post
Quick EQ time tutorial:
Code:
   /* The minutes range from 0 - 59 */

   // The hours range from 1-24
   // 1 = 1am
   // 2 = 2am
   // ...
   // 23 = 11 pm
   // 24 = 12 am
 
   // The days range from 1-28

   // The months range from 1-12

   //year is just a number
format of eqtime.cfg:
Code:
version(1000)
day
hour
minute
month
year
unix_time
I did notice a few odd things with the time while seeing if all of the zones (which are all currently dynamic) keep the same time. I started out in cabeast, and the time was showing Sunday, January 01, 3100 - 9AM (9:35 am according to #time). I then zoned to tutorial and the time showed Friday, November 06, 3102 - 8PM (8:34 pm according to #time). When I zoned back to cabeast, the time corresponded with what I was seeing in cabeast, and same when I zoned back to tutorial. I'm not really sure what the deal is, but it seems like the zones are seeing the correct time.

I wonder if this means instead of using quest to handle spawn changes for different times of the day, if the spawn_events table in the DB can actually be used.
__________________
GM-Impossible of 'A work in progress'
A non-legit PEQ DB server
How to create your own non-legit server

My Contributions to the Wiki
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-25-2008, 09:11 AM
Sabyre's Avatar
Sabyre
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 88
Default

Any confirmation that the time is updated in the config file so that upon reboot all EQ time is not lost. Has anyone tested with static zones?
__________________
.......
...
.
"We are the music makers and we are the dreamers of the dreams" - Willy Wonka
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:21 AM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3