|
|
 |
 |
 |
 |
|
 |
 |
|
 |
 |
|
 |
|
Quests::Q&A This is the quest support section |

07-12-2013, 02:52 PM
|
 |
Demi-God
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,175
|
|
LUA vs PERL
Since LUA is now functional, I have a few questions. Are all of the original functions for PERL active in LUA now? If I am creating a custom quest would there be a compelling reason to use LUA vs PERL? Is LUA faster, or is it just aesthetical? I know people complain about PERL readability.
|

07-12-2013, 03:11 PM
|
Hill Giant
|
|
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 197
|
|
It's Lua and Perl; all caps aren't necessary.
http://www.lua.org/about.html under "What's in a name?"
and http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Perl under "Name".
It might be petty to point this out, but it's simply annoying to see.
As to the title of the thread, I prefer Perl for some tasks and Lua others.
In my opinion, Perl is better for general administrative tasks and Lua for embedded scripting languages.
|

07-12-2013, 03:13 PM
|
 |
Demi-God
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,175
|
|
Sorry for the caps. I have seen people upper case them, and sometimes lower case.
|

07-13-2013, 12:45 AM
|
Administrator
|
|
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,348
|
|
Lua is faster and has some advantages for more advanced users: such as direct manipulation of spawns and inventories (and soon packets) that aren't easy to do with Perl and encounter quest types which aren't supported at all in Perl. Also as of this moment you can only interact with the npc special ability system just added using legacy API functions on Perl; the new ones are only exported to Lua.
For most quests you can basically use whatever you would like though as they'll both do the job.
|

08-04-2013, 02:28 AM
|
Hill Giant
|
|
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: So. California
Posts: 219
|
|
For me the functions being different from perl slowed me down a bit, for example this quest in perl:
Code:
sub EVENT_WAYPOINT_ARRIVE {
if ($wp==1) {
quest::say("Im at the waypoint on perl.");
quest::creategroundobject(30619, 809.6, -795.86, -4.23, 0, 30000);
}
}
When converted to lua I had to use the underscores, which I didnt figure out until looking in the source, so a slight learning curve for me..
Correct Lua Version:
Code:
function event_waypoint_arrive(e)
if(e.wp == 1) then
e.self:Say("Im at the waypoint on lua.");
eq.create_ground_object(30619, 809.6, -795.86, -4.23, 0, 30000);
end
end
|

08-04-2013, 06:05 PM
|
Discordant
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 435
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by sorvani
|
Explain that statement please.
__________________
|

08-04-2013, 07:22 PM
|
 |
Developer
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 515
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by sorvani
|
Can the SpecialAbility stuff be used in perl? (guessing no)
Don't have time to test it right now.
Code:
Integer GetSpecialAbility(Integer ability);
Integer GetSpecialAbilityParam(Integer ability, Integer param);
Void SetSpecialAbility(Integer ability, Integer level);
Void SetSpecialAbilityParam(Integer ability, Integer param, Integer value);
Void ClearSpecialAbilities();
Void ProcessSpecialAbilities(String str);
|

08-04-2013, 07:28 PM
|
Developer
|
|
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 109
|
|
as noted in changelog:
Quote:
The old API functions that worked with letters still exist for backwards compatibility reasons but wont be updated further.
|
|

08-04-2013, 07:55 PM
|
Dragon
|
|
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 965
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by wolfwalkereci
Explain that statement please.
|
go try and log in to the wikia.
|

08-04-2013, 08:07 PM
|
Administrator
|
|
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,348
|
|
I didn't add the functions for the new special attack stuff to Perl so it's limited to the old API atm. Someone could if they want I just didn't take the time to do it.
|

08-04-2013, 08:31 PM
|
Discordant
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 435
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by sorvani
go try and log in to the wikia.
|
I'm logged into the wiki at this link. http://www.eqemulator.net/wiki/wikka.php?wakka=HomePage
I've even been making small changes here and there.
If you can not log in for some reason then yes I agree there is a serious issue there but I would gladly take the time to input everything to the wiki.
Thanks for responding sorvani, is it safe to assume its borked for new accounts?
__________________
|

08-04-2013, 11:15 PM
|
Dragon
|
|
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 965
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by wolfwalkereci
I'm logged into the wiki at this link. http://www.eqemulator.net/wiki/wikka.php?wakka=HomePage
I've even been making small changes here and there.
If you can not log in for some reason then yes I agree there is a serious issue there but I would gladly take the time to input everything to the wiki.
Thanks for responding sorvani, is it safe to assume its borked for new accounts?
|
New accounts are borked yes. Additionally, when I attempt to log in, I a presented with a blank white screen. Not a login dialog. This is the result of clicking on your link, then on login.

|

08-05-2013, 02:19 AM
|
Discordant
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 435
|
|
I noticed that as well. Is this not something that can be addressed by the admin staff?
__________________
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:54 PM.
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
 |